The perpetual question: Auto-populating sheets based on criteria

Closed
NotExcelling - Feb 17, 2016 at 07:17 PM
vcoolio Posts 1404 Registration date Thursday July 24, 2014 Status Moderator Last seen September 15, 2023 - Feb 19, 2016 at 05:22 PM
Hello,

I realize this question has been asked in a million iterations, but my understanding of programming is so nonexistent that I can't confidently adapt the existing answers to fit my needs. Please bear with me.

I have a "Master" data sheet with all the existing data entries, but want to make a copy of only those marked "Complete" in the first column into a separate sheet entitled "Complete". What is the best way to go about doing this? Also is it possible to transfer the column heads (located in row 2) onto the new sheet automatically as well, or is it better to manually copy them over and have the sheet auto-populate below?

Please let me know if I can clarify anything.
Thanks in advance!

3 responses

vcoolio Posts 1404 Registration date Thursday July 24, 2014 Status Moderator Last seen September 15, 2023 259
Feb 17, 2016 at 11:39 PM
Hello NotExcelling,

Have a look at the following thread. I'm sure it is similar to your situation:-

https://ccm.net/forum/affich-873428-copy-the-data-of-a-row-based-on-identifying-the-data-in-a-cell

The code uses AutoFilter which is very quick.

The Poster never bothered to reply so I don't know if it worked for him/her.

As a learning exercise, I'll let you do some homework on this one but don't be afraid! Test it in a copy of your work book first.

- Copy and paste the headings into your new sheet first.

- You can remove line 16 from the code as in the other post, the copied data would have a column of blanks so we hid the column.

- Carefully read lines 7 & 8 and change the ranges to suit your situation (line 7).
- The code auto filters and searches Column I for blanks ("") as the criteria on line 8. You need to change................