CQ40 won't turn on

Solved/Closed
Cocky43 - Feb 28, 2016 at 11:11 PM
Ambucias
Posts
47363
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
- Mar 4, 2016 at 05:41 PM
Hello,

Ihave a CQ40 that wont fire up have tried the battery out bit and plug in power press the on button it and the wi fi buttons light up but not the monitor any clues anyone.

Cocky 43.

5 replies

Computertech
Posts
3569
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
898
Feb 29, 2016 at 12:02 AM
Did you hear the fans inside the laptop? My suggestion is to try external monitor to check out your screen is good.

0
Cocky43
Posts
4
Registration date
Sunday February 28, 2016
Status
Member
Last seen
March 4, 2016

Mar 2, 2016 at 08:44 PM
Thank you for that I will try that when I can get another monitor once I hook it up do I need to press any buttons? I have just turned it on and yes the fans are working.
0
Computertech
Posts
3569
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
898
Mar 2, 2016 at 11:12 PM
just connect the monitor with vga and power cable, try to switch on the power button on the monitor if it not on.
0
Cocky43
Posts
4
Registration date
Sunday February 28, 2016
Status
Member
Last seen
March 4, 2016

Mar 3, 2016 at 11:59 PM
computertech, thank you for that have tried with two different monitors and nothing think the video card not working ?
0
Computertech
Posts
3569
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
898
Mar 4, 2016 at 12:32 AM
Did you hear any beeps?

Try this 1,

switch off the laptop
Remove the RAM from the slot and switch on the laptop did you hear any beeps now?
If yes then switch off the laptop and reseat the RAM again properly, If you have two RAM's test it by one by one. If no beeps at all without presence of RAM your motherboard is faulty.

N.B There may be problem that lies between RAM or Graphic in certain case may be motherboard also.
0
Cocky43
Posts
4
Registration date
Sunday February 28, 2016
Status
Member
Last seen
March 4, 2016

Mar 4, 2016 at 04:35 AM
Ah ha I have just pulled out both ram chips and switched on it made two funny noises ok so switch off and replaced one chip and at switch on wackoh I have a working laptop now to try the other ram chip will let you know what happens.

By the way A big thank you.
0
Computertech
Posts
3569
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
898
Mar 4, 2016 at 04:37 AM
You are welcome. Lets see what going on.
0
Ambucias
Posts
47363
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,280 > Computertech
Posts
3569
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016

Mar 4, 2016 at 05:41 PM
Another problem bites the dust, thanks to Computertech !
0

Didn't find the answer you are looking for?

Ask a question
Cocky43
Posts
4
Registration date
Sunday February 28, 2016
Status
Member
Last seen
March 4, 2016

Mar 4, 2016 at 01:18 PM
Yep I had another chip and that is working just fine just need to install a couple of drivers to finish again thank you.
0