Windows won't load

Solved/Closed
compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016 - Dec 10, 2016 at 03:57 AM
compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016 - Dec 10, 2016 at 06:27 PM
So computer was working fine,I downloaded Microsoft Office and didn't like the pop-ups that came with the generator so I canceled install and was going to buy full version. Guess I was too late as the pop-ups wouldn't stop grrrrrr. Ran Malwarebytes to try and remove all the adware and pop-ups. Now my windows won't load. Loads until my login screen,I enter password then it load a black screen with a pop-up "windows script host setting" sorting in lower left corner. Even tried starting in safe mode but same results. Any help for my stupid actions would be greatly appreciated
Related:

4 replies

Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 11,232
Dec 10, 2016 at 05:11 AM
Hi

The only thing left to do is to reset your machine to factory out of the box settings. All of your data will be lost but it's better than a dead computer.
0
compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016 at 05:16 AM
How might I do this? Don't believe I have a windows disc. Everything was pre-installed when I purchased from store years ago.
0
Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 11,232 > compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016 at 05:17 AM
What is the make and model of your machine ?
0
compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016 > Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021
Dec 10, 2016 at 05:34 AM
Acer Aspire 6930 Intel duo core 2
0
Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 11,232
Dec 10, 2016 at 05:41 AM
Hi

Oh boy...another Acer

Anyway here it goes you can restore it from the WinPE environment. The system starts from the hidden partition on the hard drive. To begin the restoration, press Alt + F10 (PC Tower) or F10 (laptop) to boot the PC when the ACER logo appears. This will start the system from the hidden partition the hard drive and you access its main page. The restoration will be on partition C:. The partition D: (ACERDATA) will not be formatted, and therefore documents will not be deleted

Good luck

P.S. Kind of cold outside isn't it ?
0
compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016 at 05:57 AM
Tried several times pressing f10 to no avail. Still loads to password then to black screen.

Yes tempature is about -35 -40 brrrrr
0
Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 11,232 > compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016 at 06:10 AM
I once spent one entire month, never above -40 (Edmonton)

You must F10 as your laptop is starting up. What about Alt + F10 as your Acer 6930 is starting up
0
compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016
Updated by compton856 on 10/12/16 at 06:29 AM
Although f10 worked. Brought to "edit boot options screen"
Path \windows\system32\Winwood.exe
Partition:2
Harddrive: 50a5b170
[\Tests inning /noexecute=optin

Enter=submit escape = cancel

Tried pressing enter and it took me to password and same result of black screen.
0
Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 11,232
Dec 10, 2016 at 06:43 AM
I am afraid that the virus you downloaded damaged your entire system including the recovery partition.

You must the recovery disks, unfortunately, I don't know where you can get them, Acer support is poor but you can try:

https://www.acer.com/ac/en/CA/content/support

Good luck
0
compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016 at 06:53 AM
Thanks anyways. Appreciate your time. I will look into it more when I'm home on days off.
0
compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016 at 09:24 AM
Did a system restore to a few weeks ago and got it working again
0
Ambucias Posts 47357 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen September 1, 2021 11,232 > compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016 at 06:06 PM
Thanks for letting me know. But you told me that you could not see anything after logging in, how did you manage ?
0
compton856 Posts 8 Registration date Saturday December 10, 2016 Status Member Last seen December 10, 2016
Dec 10, 2016 at 06:27 PM
F8 at startup
0