Files and Desktop Icons Dissapear

Closed
beginner - Feb 22, 2012 at 02:27 AM
Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 - Feb 23, 2012 at 05:11 AM
Hello,

Before anything I want to inform that I'm not a computer expert. I've seen posts similar to this and I still don't know how to solve it. My problem is I cannot see any desktop icons and files are all empty. The only thing on desktop is recycle bin and computer. When I click start, empty, thee's all program tab but when I open the folder, empty. However my hard disk still shows the MB used as normal, but when I click, nothing. I'm using norton antivirus, which deteced and deleted a "misleading application" but the problem is still there. I downloaded malwarebytes and it detected 2 "PUM.Hijack.StartMenu" but the problem is still there. Please help me!!!

Related:

9 responses

Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 11,169
Feb 22, 2012 at 03:55 PM
I am analysing, please stand-by as it may take me 30 minutes to an hour.
Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 11,169
Feb 22, 2012 at 04:35 PM
Dear Nabeel,

Good news! You system is virus free. However I see many things which have been changed with your desktop and I don't know why exactly at this point.

What I suggest is that you restore your system to a point where you know before the problem occured and let me know the results. You may lose a fews bits of data but it's worth it.

Here is how:

Before you start System Restore, save any open files and close all programs. System Restore will restart your PC.

1.Open System Restore by clicking the Start button .

2. In the search box, type System Restore, and then, in the list of results, click System Restore. If you're prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.