Excel dropdown issues using Macro

Closed
kivuous - Jun 10, 2009 at 07:24 AM
 vasim - Apr 18, 2010 at 12:19 AM
Hello friends,

I have a requirement in excel. I am totally new to macro programming so please guide me..

There is a drop down list in a field say M. Now after the user selects any one of the values from the dropdown menu, I should populate the field(M) with a acronym of that value(which is provided and can be hardcoded).

For example The user selects DECEASED from the drop down menu, but DEC gets stored in the cell.

for creating the drop down list i have used the following where n1-n18 are the drop down values:
.Range("m3:m" & iCurrentLastRow).Select
With Selection.Validation
.Add Type:=xlValidateList, AlertStyle:=xlValidAlertStop, Operator:= _
xlBetween, Formula1:="=$n$1:$n$18"
.IgnoreBlank = True
.InCellDropdown = True
.InputTitle = "Withdrawal Code"
.ErrorTitle = "Withdrawal Code"
.InputMessage = "Please select a withdrawal code from the drop-down list"
.ErrorMessage = _
"You tried to enter an invalid withdrawal code. Please select a code from the list"
.ShowInput = True
.ShowError = True
End With

Please help me out!!..
Related:

6 responses

Excelguru Posts 261 Registration date Saturday April 11, 2009 Status Member Last seen June 21, 2011 307
Jun 10, 2009 at 07:38 AM
Hi
why you need a macro
put a formula =if(dropdownCellAddress="DECEASED","DEC","") in the target cell
Why to write a macro?????

Just make an array in the same sheet or define an array in another sheet.
do a vlookup of the corresponding drop down cell....

Let me know if you need more help.....
i have some arrays in the same work sheet. with reference to the value selected in one drop down list, the 2nd drop down list should change. is thr any way
Thanks for your answer.. but Actually the formula is already used for creating the drop down :
Formula1:="=$n$1:$n$18"

where n1-n18 are the values of the drop down in cell M......