I am just learning the basics

Solved/Closed
itstubtime Posts 6 Registration date Wednesday August 7, 2013 Status Member Last seen August 10, 2013 - Aug 7, 2013 at 01:18 PM
 Blocked Profile - Aug 8, 2013 at 04:52 PM
Hello All,
I am new to this community. I have just started learning Excel and am having a problem with a formula. the community here from what I have read in the forums have a lot of answers. I couldn't find an answer to my Question. Sorry if it has been asked before.
I have created a spreadsheet with the following. Hope I am wording this right.
The numbers in the cells that I want to create the formula for are.
A1=30,B1=1,C1=5,D1=1E1=1,F1=1,G1=0.5 Cell J will be my result. I want my formula to be in cell h I have it working know but had to create an additional cell to get it to work Cell J. here is my current formula.
In Cell J I have =(A1)-(B1)-(C1)-(D1)-(E1)-(F1) This gives me the correct result of 21. But I still Need to add more to this formula. So in Cell H1 I added this Formula.
=(J1/2)+(G2*2) this is now the right result of 11.5. I would like to add The Formula In cell H to the end of the Formula J so I can get rid of The cell J that I don't Want. Any help would be Greatly Appreciated.

Thank You David

6 responses

Blocked Profile
Aug 7, 2013 at 03:10 PM
Give this a try. Instead of dividing the sum, multiply it by .5. same thing...

=(A1-B1-C1-D1-E1-F1-G1)*0.5+G2*2
itstubtime Posts 6 Registration date Wednesday August 7, 2013 Status Member Last seen August 10, 2013
Aug 7, 2013 at 06:19 PM
Thank You for the Quick reply.
The formula result is not giving the right result. the correct result should be 22 not 22.2. Any other Ideas?

Thank You
David
Blocked Profile
Aug 8, 2013 at 09:47 AM
Ah, yea. that is correct.

How do you get a whole number when clearly in your last cell there is a partial value of a number or .5. for 21.5.

So how do you get a whole number from a fraction, you round. Your worksheet (Cells) is(are) rounding.

Have fun!