My pc got a virus

Closed
lushestgranny Posts 3 Registration date Thursday September 18, 2014 Status Member Last seen September 25, 2014 - Sep 21, 2014 at 08:12 PM
Ambucias Posts 47356 Registration date Monday February 1, 2010 Status Moderator Last seen February 15, 2023 - Sep 25, 2014 at 04:39 PM
can anyone help me I have a windows xp desk top and I think I have a virus in it.its like all of a sudden these 2 unknown apps showed up on my screen and now I cant do a thing with the computer.i put it on safe mode to do system restore,but the system restore page only comes up blank and none of the programs will come up and my internet explorer disappeared.does anybady have advice I might use or am I going to have to get a different pc?moneys tight and im screwed if I cant fix it.im new at computers.i don't know that much so if theres advice please explain it real easy for me . thank you lushestgranny
Related:

4 responses

jambora Posts 4 Registration date Sunday September 21, 2014 Status Member Last seen September 23, 2014
Sep 21, 2014 at 08:51 PM
Get an anti-virus programme. Install and scan for viruses. If you have one already, start up in safe mode and run it.
If you still have problems, and because you are new at computers, the easiest way to solve this problem is to take your PC to a computer shop and let them fix it for you. Get an idea of the cost by phoning them first, calling 2 or 3 places. It's cheaper than buying a new one! Or maybe contact the local High School, or T.A.F.E., ask to speak to one of their computer staff. You may have friends who use a PC at work, perhaps they could help. You will save yourself heaps of stress doing it this way, because from what you say,I doubt very much that you need a new PC!
One thing,though - make sure they tell you 3 things.
1. what went wrong.
2. how they fixed it (if they did).
3. how to avoid or prevent it in future.
Hope this helps.