Not a valid win32 application

Closed
eventide24
Posts
7
Registration date
Monday November 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 11, 2015
- Nov 9, 2015 at 05:02 PM
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
- Nov 11, 2015 at 04:35 PM
Hi,
I get the "not a valid win32 application" message for many programs, even Chrome won't open!

So many programs won't open anymore and that leads me to think it is a virus.

Is there a known cure for this?
Thanks,
Ron

PS. Windows7 pro 64bit
Related:

9 replies

Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,315
Nov 9, 2015 at 05:11 PM
Greetings Ron,

There are many reasons why such messages may be generated and one of them could be malware.

To help you and prescribe the remedy, I must make a diagnostic and to do so, I require a report.

1. Open this link and download ZHPDiag2 :
https://nicolascoolman.eu
(Don't be alarmed is the site is in French, it sometimes happens, the tool will take your system language and allow the download if you get a warning message, ignore it.) Click on the download button

2. Save the file on your Desktop.

3. Double click on ZHPDiag.exe and follow the installation instructions.

(For Vista, Win 7 and 8 users, click right to ensure you execute with admin right)

4. Double click on the short cut ZHPDiag on your Destktop.

5. Click on Full.

Wait for the tool to finished (maybe a long time)

6. Close ZHPDiag.

7. To transmit the report, click on this link :

https://authentification.site

8. Search the directory where you installed ZHPDiag (usually C:\desktop\zhpdiag.txt).
9. Copy the url link obtained from Speedyshare and paste it here in your reply.

Ambucias
Moderator and Virus/Security Contributor
1
eventide24
Posts
7
Registration date
Monday November 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 11, 2015

Nov 9, 2015 at 05:37 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.
I'm currently running an AVG virus scan which is taking a long time. It has already found one virus, so I think it best to allow it to finish.

When it has I will follow the steps that you suggest and post the results.
Regards,
Ron
0
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,315 > eventide24
Posts
7
Registration date
Monday November 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 11, 2015

Nov 9, 2015 at 05:49 PM
Hi Ron

Thank you for your quick reply.

Yes let AVG finish its job.

If AVG does not resolve the problem, let me know. However, I may not be online when you reply but I will certainly get back to you in the morning.

Good luck and God Save the Queen
0
eventide24
Posts
7
Registration date
Monday November 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 11, 2015

Nov 9, 2015 at 06:30 PM
I can't run the file as I get the "not a valid win23 application" when I try to open it.
Oops!
Ron
0
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,315
Nov 9, 2015 at 06:32 PM
I will get back to you in the morning.

Looks very serious
0
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,315
Nov 10, 2015 at 03:47 AM
Check the integrity of protected system files, run the following command:

sfc/scannow
0
eventide24
Posts
7
Registration date
Monday November 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 11, 2015

Nov 10, 2015 at 04:57 AM
cmd.exe is not a valid win32 application and I can't remember how to start up with a command prompt.
Yet another senior moment
0
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,315
Nov 10, 2015 at 05:05 AM
Click on start then on run. Type: cmd press enter
type sfc/scannow press enter
Let it run and report
0

Didn't find the answer you are looking for?

Ask a question
eventide24
Posts
7
Registration date
Monday November 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 11, 2015

Nov 10, 2015 at 05:28 AM
Don't have a 'run' command in the start menu.
The 'run' and cmd commands are in accessories and either bring up the error message.

Got to pack up on the pc for now.
Thanks,
Ron
0
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,315
Nov 10, 2015 at 04:33 PM
Press Windows key + R
0
Computertech
Posts
3569
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
900
Nov 10, 2015 at 05:45 AM
Did you have windows 7 CD?
0
eventide24
Posts
7
Registration date
Monday November 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 11, 2015

Nov 10, 2015 at 06:35 PM
Hi,
Have run sfc.scannow and sent you a copy of the log file, (I can't read it).
Don't have a win7 CD, it came installed on the PC.
Thanks,
Ron
0
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,315
Nov 10, 2015 at 06:38 PM
Hello

I can't see the log!
0
Hello, it's called CBS and I sent it to speedyshare yesterday.
I'll send it again in just a few minutes.
Thanks,
Ron
0
eventide24
Posts
7
Registration date
Monday November 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
November 11, 2015

Nov 11, 2015 at 04:11 PM
Sorry the message got delayed, CBS.LOG was sent before my last message
0
Ambucias
Posts
47366
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Status
Moderator
Last seen
September 1, 2021
11,315
Nov 11, 2015 at 04:35 PM
Sorry, it's not here. You forgot to post here the Speedyshare url of your upload.

Again go to run then enter and confirm the following command:

regsvr32 / i SHELL32.DLL

Tell me if that fixes the issue
0