Can't log in without paying

Closed
paule2b Posts 6 Registration date Sunday August 16, 2020 Status Member Last seen August 20, 2020 - Aug 16, 2020 at 07:19 PM
HelpiOS Posts 14311 Registration date Friday October 30, 2015 Status Moderator Last seen April 24, 2024 - Aug 21, 2020 at 08:16 AM
When I try to log in to Instagram I get:

"Your free access is now finished. Please proceed to (small) payment to continue to have access to our service!"

Click "OK" this goes to a page asking for money.

If I click "no", the log in page closes down with a pop up showing:

"We are sorry you do not wish to help us :-("

Instagram worked for a couple of weeks before this message appeared.

I'm new to Instagram, so at first it seemed reasonable to pay, until I started asking around and was told by everyone that it is free.

Would be willing to pay, but not to give my credit card details to a suspicious site.

I'm on a windows 10 PC. The Instagram is personal, not for business. Not running any ads.

I can't delete my account because I can't log in.

I tried opening a new account, but same message.

I've uninstalled and reinstalled Instagram several times, but same message.

System restore to an old date didn't work.

No suspicious apps or programs I can see in Apps and Features.

Has anyone else encountered this?

Any advice would be appreciated.

4 responses

David Webb Posts 3177 Registration date Monday November 25, 2019 Status Administrator Last seen May 15, 2023   6,925
Updated on Aug 17, 2020 at 01:18 AM
Hello, this sounds like a scam. Instagram is a free to use service and won't ask you to pay.

Have a look here on how to avoid scams on Instagram. You should try contacting Instagram's support centre to flag up this issue.