Computer powers on when it wants to

Closed
ant - Oct 24, 2008 at 10:00 PM
xpcman Posts 19530 Registration date Wednesday October 8, 2008 Status Contributor Last seen June 15, 2019 - Oct 25, 2008 at 04:41 AM
Hello, im new to this so please bear with me. i have a dell dimension 4500. while i was away at school, my jack ass roommates didnt pay their part of the light bill at the same time doubling their jack assedness by leaving my computer constantly on. so the power was cut off while my computer was running. after these events my computer still ran and still does, the only problem is that it powers on when it wants to. it starts up all or nothing. the only thing that tells me its getting power is the fact that the power button has a light in it and it always lights up, but i have to wait up to a week before the computer powers on. i have had situations where i couldnt wait due to homework and other needed documents being on this computer, so i switched what i think is the watt switch, it reads 125ww and 250ww, and it would resume power. from that i was under the belief that it is only the power supply. i simply dont want to waste money on something that isnt the problem.

5 responses

xpcman Posts 19530 Registration date Wednesday October 8, 2008 Status Contributor Last seen June 15, 2019 1,826
Oct 24, 2008 at 10:53 PM
That's the VOLT switch 220-250volts (for Europe and other parts of the world) and 110-125 volts for the US etc.

If you switched from 125 to 250 its a amazing the PC works at all.

If you switched from 250 to 125 (and your in Europe) it would burn out the power supply and/or computer.
ok, so since the computer still works without any issue, is it the power supply or can you say what it is?
xpcman Posts 19530 Registration date Wednesday October 8, 2008 Status Contributor Last seen June 15, 2019 1,826
Oct 24, 2008 at 11:21 PM