Wireless connection keeps dropping

Solved/Closed
jules_santana - Updated on Jun 17, 2018 at 01:04 PM
 gues - Sep 26, 2017 at 10:04 AM
Hello, I have an Acer Aspire 3410 laptop.
And my internet connection is Belkin54g with AT&T connection.

My internet keeps dropping about every 5 minutes and then disconnects for about 3 minutes then reconnects. and every 4 or 5 times it happens it'll just say Limited/or No Connection with a little warning sign next the wirelessconnection button next to the clock.

Oh yeah and also, When I try to 'repair' my wireless connection it says it cannot be completed and to make sure my network adapter is properly installed.

This has been happening for about a year and its killing me!

Can someone helpmeplease?

3 responses

I may have an answer - first of all I am not a computer expert - I have been having the same problem with my lap top and wireless connection - I am running VISTA. It has been driving me crazy. I did a google search looking for answers but nothing I read seemed to fit my computers configuration, however while looking at my configuration I found something interesting that seems to have worked.

If you go to control panel - network connections - right click on the wireless connection and choose properties.
click on the Configure button - under "Power Management" there was a tick in a box beside the comment "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" I removed the tick and saved. Since doing that my connection has not dropped off once.

It has only been one day but since the connection was dropping every 5-10 minutes, sometimes reconnecting on it's own and sometimes I had to manually reconnect I am feeling very hopeful.
Very helpful - thank you!
thank you so much this was very helpful. It worked on my toshiba laptop running windows 7 :)
Brilliant.

Thank you Sarah.