Motherboard boot screen stuck [Solved/Closed]

Posts
7
Registration date
Wednesday September 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
September 11, 2015
-
Hi,

I've been dealing with this problem for a couple months now, and It's getting really annoying. Ever since I installed my new GPU (Gigabyte GTX960 G1 GAMING), my motherboard boot screen is stuck for a few minutes.

It is also having a few post-beeps, about one in a minute and I can't do anything. I can't open BIOS or anything else. It doesn't respond until a few minutes pass and it continues on startup.

I know why it might be this way, this GPU requires me to plug 2 cables from my power supply and I only have 1. The GPU is still working fine with 1 cable but I assume that this is the reason.

So I'm wondering if this replacing the card\power supply is the only way to fix it or is there something else I can do?

Note: I don't mind waiting for a few minutes while turning the PC on. The real problem is that I can't format my computer.

My motherboard is Gigabyte H61M-S2PV

Thanks!
See more 

6 replies

Best answer
approved by Ratnendra Ashok on Jan 25, 2019
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
890
4
Thank you
Thanks for the Info!

For the users looking for the solutions, I would request you to read all the messages in the thread. If you see different results, don't hesitate in commenting below.

Let's try solving it one-by-one.

1) The PSU you mentioned is not a standard one! Did you buy it separately? Or, is this a custom built PC? Yes, as you said, it is one of the issues regarding power connectors that going to the card!

2) Your GPU need the following:
  • System power supply requirement: 400W (with two 6-pin external power connectors)
  • 28nm processor but yours 22nm


How many beeps you got in post?

Say "Thank you" 4

A few words of thanks would be greatly appreciated. Add comment

CCM 5755 users have said thank you to us this month

I get 4 post beeps each one in about 30 seconds, im not sure if this pc was custom built or just bought, but i upgraded a lot, im not sure if the psu was changed but probably not.
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
890
1
Thank you
For concerning beeps, check your motherboard manual. It will tell you what the 4 beeps indicate. If you don't have a manual, then there should be one for your motherboard on Gigabytes website.

I would reseat all connections. Reseat RAM modules and graphics card. Also, try with just one Module (if you have more than one). Take CMOS battery out for at least 10 minutes.
Its either gpu error or a real time clock, what does real time clock mean?
I took the cmos for about 30 minutes or so, now my pc wont boot to windows at all, also, still cant access to bios to fix the boot thing..
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
890
1
Thank you
A real-time clock (RTC) is a battery-powered clock that is included in a microchip in a computer motherboard. This microchip is usually separate from the microprocessor and other chips and is often referred to simply as "the CMOS"

Warning: Do all this after switch OFF your PC.

Did you try with Remove and Reseat the RAM? Try again the CMOS battery and remove your GPU. Do not insert your GPU, reseat your CMOS battery again and switch on the PC!
Thanks for the comment, i ended up doing it before you responded but im back to where i started, boot screen is stuck on startup for a few minutes.
Computertech
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
890 -
Did you try without Graphic card?
It did start normally without the gpu i kinda knew it all along but i was wonderingif theres a way to fix it other then replacing parts and if there isnt what do i need to upgrade so it'll work properly, psu, motherboard or cpu
Computertech
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
890 -
Graphic card may be a culprit which stucks the screen at boot up, also as you said the Power supply unit need to connect the Graphic card power connections properly to work good but your psu did not, so from my part i suggest you to use your pc without graphic card if you did not want your pc to stuck otherwise buy new psu.
> Computertech
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
-
Okay, and is it causing any damage to the gpu or anything besides causing the boot menu to be stuck?
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
890
1
Thank you
You risk overdrawing the PSU and damaging it. It can also cause other components to not get enough power or deal with erratic power from an overloaded PSU, so unrelated things may also start to act up. Better quality PSU's are probably going to be more robust than lower quality cheap OEM provided ones.

A video card or other component may be say it needs a 400w power supply, and it probably does only when fully loaded. So you may not experience problems on power on, but only after playing a game or something else that stresses the GPU.

Specific symptoms include:
  • Lockups
  • BSODs
  • Graphical corruption
  • Display goes black
  • You can try "burning-in" your card by running a benchmark utility such as FurMark3d or similar for an extended time, giving problems a chance to surface. But don't do it if you know your PSU is underrated. Get a new PSU.


<signature>Hardware Technician
Spoiler Please inform us when the issue is resolved. Thank you </span>
RonDanino
Posts
7
Registration date
Wednesday September 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
September 11, 2015
-
Okay, Thank you, I will probably end up buying a new PSU and CPU in a few months. thanks.
Computertech
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
890 -
You are welcome!
All the best and Regards!
Posts
3610
Registration date
Friday February 6, 2015
Status
Moderator
Last seen
July 18, 2016
890
0
Thank you
What is your power supply unit rating? And, model?

<signature>Hardware Technician
Spoiler Please inform us when the issue is resolved. Thank you </span>
RonDanino
Posts
7
Registration date
Wednesday September 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
September 11, 2015
-
My power supply is a Zeus PS520GW
It's a 520watt power supply, I was also reading on the GTX960 box that it requires a powerful cpu, All I have is a I3 3.3Ghz (Intel Core I3 2120) Could it be it?
Posts
7
Registration date
Wednesday September 9, 2015
Status
Member
Last seen
September 11, 2015
0
Thank you
@Computertech

My power supply is a Zeus PS520GW
It's a 520watt power supply, I was also reading on the GTX960 box that it requires a powerful cpu, All I have is a I3 3.3Ghz (Intel Core I3 2120) Could it be it?