LinkedIn is the largest and most known professional social network site which aims to promote connections and increase your employability. However, you might prefer that certain people on the network not be able to see your profile. Luckily you can block up to 50 contacts. These users are not notified when they are blocked. In this article we'll explain how to use this practical function.
Keep in mind that if you block someone, the block will be mutual. Therefore you will no longer be able to see their profile or send them messages. You will also no longer be shown suggested connections related to that profile.
Also, remember if you block a first level contact and later want to unblock them, you will need to resend a connection request.
If you decide to continue, blocking a contact on LinkedIn is very simple. To do so, go to the three points that appear in the Send a message box (in case of first level contacts) or next to Send an inmail message (for second, third level contacts). Then click on Report/block. On the next screen, confirm to Block the profile.
Finally, you can also report profiles. Reporting profiles is reserved for those who have seriously violated LinkedIn's terms and conditions of use. This includes harassment, insults and scams. More information can be found here.
To unblock a contact that you have previously blocked, go to Settings and Privacy. In the Privacy section, look for the Blocking and hiding section at the bottom of the screen. Click on Change next to Blocking and the list of blocked contacts will appear, from which you can remove the block. As a security measure, to unblock someone, you must enter your LinkedIn password.