Videos downloaded not playing in VLC media player [Solved/Closed]

Registration date
Sunday June 23, 2013
Last seen
July 13, 2013
- Jun 23, 2013 at 09:57 AM - Latest reply:  Bhupy Choudahry - Jul 20, 2013 at 12:32 PM
I have previously experienced no problems when I have downloaded videos from YouTube using Real Downloader and then viewing them in VLC media player. However, I have recently been experiencing problems in that while the videos still appear to download okay, they no longer play in VLC media player. (I have no sound or video although VLC shows the title and duration of the downloaded video.) Old videos which I had downloaded earlier using Real Downloader from YouTube still play perfectly okay in VLC media player. It is only new videos that no longer play. I have tried various titles but none of them play. Have YouTube changed their video coding recently to prevent videos downloaded from playing? I would point out that I have little technical knowledge.

I would appreciate any help that anyone can give me.
See more 

30 replies

Best answer
Registration date
Sunday June 23, 2013
Last seen
July 13, 2013
Jul 5, 2013 at 06:07 AM
Thank you
Hello

After trawling the web and other forums, I have found a downloader that still plays You Tube music videos (even Vevo ones). It is the YouTube Video and Audio downloader (version 0.2.2) which is an Add-On for Firefox and plays them in the .flv format. it can be found here .https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/youtube-video-and-audio-dow/

One warning - it does not work in private browsing mode.

Hope this is helpful.

Thank you, Kodika 33

Something to say? Add comment

CCM has helped 1699 users this month

Registration date
Sunday June 6, 2010
Status
Last seen
December 30, 2015
- Jul 5, 2013 at 06:19 AM
Hello,
Try this 1
codec is not supported when appears we need to install the codecs pack for that media player.