BeReal is a photo-sharing app that encourages users to share one photo per day to give their followers a glimpse of what they are doing on a daily basis. The idea is that BeReal is more authentic than other social media, like Instagram or TikTok in that you cannot easily curate your BeReal images. This article will look at BeReal and explain what it is all about.
What is BeReal?
BeReal is a French photo sharing app that was created in 2020 and became popular in 2022. It is one of the most popular downloads of the moment, just behind Instagram, Snapchat and TikTok. The app is designed in a way that you are encouraged to show your followers your natural self.
How does BeReal work?
BeReal works by sharing photos of yourself and your daily life. However, you are not allowed to determine when you take a photo, instead, the app will notify users randomly during the day. After receiving the notification, when you open the app, a two minute timer will begin. This is the time that you have to take a photo to share with your followers. The app will take a photo using both your main camera, and your selfie camera. This way people can see your facial expression, the location you are in, and the activity you are undertaking.
During this two minute window you can take as many photos as you want in an attempt to pick the most flattering one. After the two minute window closes, you can delete the image, however by doing this you will be unable to delete the next BeReal photo that you post. Be aware that your friends will be able to see how many photos that you took during the two minutes. This app really is designed for you to take one photo and be happy with that. On a similar note, if you don't post when the app wants you to, your followers will be able to see that you posted late. Posting when you want goes against the ethos of the app and is heavily discouraged. The app really just wants you to be as authentic and genuine as possible.
How to get started with BeReal?
- Firstly, download BeReal from the app store for iPhone users, or the Google Play store for Android users.
- Once you have downloaded the app, you will need to enter your name, birthdate and phone number.
- The app will ask to see your contacts and to send you notifications.
- You will then mostly likely be prompted to take your first BeReal photo and get started on the app.
Can you screenshot on BeReal?
Yes, your BeReal's can be screen grabbed, however you will receive a notification when someone has taken one. Like with everything you share on social media, don't upload anything that you don't want to be seen publicly. Whilst the very nature of BeReal can lead to some impromptu photography when you are least expecting it, the ability to delete a BeReal should prevent any unwanted photos being shared.
Who can see your BeReal?
If you have made your account private (friends-only), then only your friends will be able to see your photos. Your friends won't be able to see your photos until they post their own. This prevents someone just following you and looking at your photos without sharing their own.