My computer keeps freezing [Solved/Closed]

- - Latest reply:  linutzu - Jan 10, 2013 at 09:30 PM
Hello,

Everytime I start windows XP & log into my settings, My computer freezes & I have to go into safe mode. I have no clue why & have done numerous scans for viruses, spyware, etc. I have come up with nothing. If anyone can tell me why its doing this & how to stop it without spending money that would be awesome. I really need the help as a I am a college student & most of my work is on this computer. I can't afford it to be crashing before next semester starts.
Please reply with help ASAP.

- JAYY.
See more 

20/25 replies

Best answer
Thank you
My Toshiba Laptop Is having a similar problem. It started a few days ago where whenever I log in either normal mode or safe mode, after a period of time of opening the browser or sometimes opening nothing at all.. My computer doesnt respond and then freezes and I have to restart it by holding power button.

I have already uninstalled my main browser firefox, and I am now using Internet Explorer and the problem has not changed.

I seriously need to get this fixed, as I have not had the computer that long and need it for studying.

Any help? Thanks in Advance.

Say "Thank you" 12

A few words of thanks would be greatly appreciated. Add comment

CCM has helped 2682 users this month

Okay mine does the same thing, I have the same exact computer and I thought it was just my computer doing this stuff I get into something really important. And it freezes and no matter how long you wait it out it never goes away I need to fix this so badly):
I have the same problem too. My computer will work fine, but if I try to watch a video or something the screen goes blank. I have a Toshiba.
Registration date
Wednesday October 8, 2008
Status
Contributor
Last seen
December 12, 2018
Thank you
IF you have the XP CD you can do a repair/install - go to this sit5e for instructions:

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm