Note: Orkut no longer exists. It was closed permanently in September 2014. If you had any photos or data stored on the site, they will have been removed and cannot be recovered. Importantly, it is no longer possible to contact Orkut, the company no longer exists.
Orkut was a free social networking service owned and managed by Google. It was designed to help users discover new friends and maintain existing relationships. It has been followed up by Hello, another social media network built by the same publisher as Orkut.
Signing in to the service was quick and easy. For first time users, registration was required. (This option is available on the home page.)
To access the site, go to the Google homepage and click More. In the menu that opens, click And more. A list of Other products will appear. Go to the Communicate, publish and share option, and choose Orkut.
A new window will open:
Enter your email and password in the appropriate fields, then click Login.
In the window that appears, click Continue and follow the instructions to accept the Terms and Conditions.
You will now need to complete your profile. Note that all fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required. Fields followed by a yellow key may be partially or completely hidden when certain members view your profile. Choosing Friends from the dropdown menu to the right of the key means that only people listed as your friend can view that information.
When you are done entering your information, click Finish to save your information.
Image: © Orkut.