Delete Yahoo Mail account: permanently, from phone

Delete Yahoo Mail account: permanently, from phone

If you no longer have use of your Yahoo Mail account you can easily delete your it and any data associated with it. In this article we will show you the necessary steps to delete your account and any prerequisites.

How to delete Yahoo mail account?

You will need to be able to login to your Yahoo account otherwise you will not be able to delete it. If your account has been hacked and you want to delete it you will need to recover it before you can delete it (which is understandably easier said than done). Additionally, you cannot delete a Yahoo account without the password, so if you have forgotten your password you will need to try and recover your account otherwise you will not be able to delete your account. 

This method works on PC and on mobile. To close your Yahoo mail account, open the delete Yahoo account page. If you have not yet logged into your email account , on the page that appears log in with the e-mail address and password of the mail you want to delete, if you have already done so, you will be taken directly to the deletion page. 

Enter your password in the field provided for it, then enter the code that appears and click Terminate this account. Done! You will see a window confirming the deactivation of your account:

terminate yahoo account
© Yahoo

There is then a secondary page where you need to confirm that you want to continue to delete the account. Finally, you will see a message stating that you account has been deactivated and is scheduled for deletion. From this moment on you will no longer have access to your account.

scheduled for deletion
© Yahoo

Does deleting a Yahoo Mail account delete all data?

Newsletter

When you delete a Yahoo Mail account all of your emails will be deleted, you will no longer be able to log into your account and any other data, photos stored by Yahoo will be deleted. After your account has been closed, any messages that are sent to your old account will not be delivered. In anticipation of deleting your account, let people know your new email address so they can use that to contact you. If you don't want to lose all of your photos and emails, back them up.