If you have had enough of your Facebook account, the social network offers you the option to either indefinitely deactivate or permanently delete your account. This article will explain how to delete a Facebook account. It will also provide a quick tip on how to reactivate your account, if it has been previously deactivated.
Deactivating your Facebook account is a partial way to step back from the community, without destroying all of the information contained in your account.
To deactivate your Facebook account, click the arrow in the top-right corner and select Settings:
On the lefthand side, click General > Manage Account > Deactivate your account:
Concretely, Facebook will hold onto your information so that all you will need to do is log in to reactivate your account. While messages that you have previously sent will remain visible to their recipients, other Facebook users will not be able to search your profile or contact you on the platform.
The Facebook account will remain deactivated for 14 days. If you log in with your credentials during these 14 days, the deletion process will be cancelled.
You may find that in your time away from Facebook, you will discover other hobbies and, even, enjoy doing nothing at all in your free time.
Once a Facebook account is deleted, you'll be given as long as you want to reactivate your account. It will not be permanently deleted unless you officially request it to be.
To reactivate your Facebook account, simply sign in to Facebook using your email address and password or use your Facebook login info to connect somewhere else. The account activity will be sufficient to reactivate your account.
Permanently deleting your account is the way that you may remove your account and all of your information from the platform, for good.
To get started, go to the following link, which gives you direct access to the account deletion form. Upon opening the link, you will receive the following message:
Click Delete My Account. You will then be required to enter your password and a capcha:
Then, select Ok to finish the process.
Image: © Andrey Yanevich - Shutterstock.com