Internet connected but browsers not working Windows 10 [Solved/Closed]

Posts
1
Registration date
Tuesday December 29, 2015
Last seen
December 29, 2015
- Dec 29, 2015 at 11:49 AM - Latest reply:  rrobi
- May 9, 2018 at 04:36 PM
I have a Dell XPS 13 on Windows 10 and suddenly by browsers wont work and other features wont connect to the internet even though in the taskbar it says I'm connected to my WiFi. I've tried: restarting my computer, restarting my router and I've done all the winsock resets and stuff and nothing works. I've gone thru all previous answers to this problem and the solutions dont work for me. HELP PLEASE!!! Please outline steps clearly as I'm pretty basic at computer stuff.

THANK YOU
See more 

86 replies

Best answer
Posts
55829
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Last seen
November 16, 2018
- Dec 29, 2015 at 05:01 PM
98
Thank you
Start --> In run type cmd --> Then "CMD" will be displayed -->
Now enter this command
netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt
Press "Enter".
Reboot your computer"

Thank you, Ambucias 98

Something to say? Add comment

CCM has helped 1655 users this month

Posts
6
Registration date
Wednesday February 15, 2017
Last seen
March 6, 2017
- Mar 6, 2017 at 03:49 PM
It looks like the problem has been resolved via the update. No problems all day today with the firewall left on.
Thank you very much :):) I was fixed with the command you suggested!!
This worked! Hopefully it wont happen again!
Just followed the steps and after rebooting I could open all webpages with no problems, Thanks a lot
Thank you so much! I literally tried everything and I'm no expert, but your fix was simple and easy. Thank you again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posts
2
Registration date
Thursday January 5, 2017
Last seen
January 6, 2017
- Jan 5, 2017 at 02:00 PM
10
Thank you
I have exactly the same issue on an Asus laptop, the solution worked but then the issue comes back within a day. Any ideas?
This may sound dumb, but where do I find Start?
Posts
2
Registration date
Monday February 13, 2017
Last seen
February 14, 2017
> Parrotjohn - Feb 14, 2017 at 01:49 AM
With Windows keyboard, press the windows symbol key, and the R, that'Lloyd get you to the CMD line.
Posts
1
Registration date
Saturday November 25, 2017
Last seen
November 25, 2017
- Nov 25, 2017 at 03:54 AM
I had the same issues and in my case I solved it by going to
internet options > connections > Lan Settings and unchecked all the checked button even automatically detect settings which was only checked in my case. And with unchecked all checked button it's working
Samfissher >
Posts
1
Registration date
Saturday November 25, 2017
Last seen
November 25, 2017
- Dec 5, 2017 at 08:01 AM
This worked for me
Stanley >
Posts
1
Registration date
Saturday November 25, 2017
Last seen
November 25, 2017
- Dec 13, 2017 at 10:07 AM
This worked.thanks
3
Thank you
Having exact same problems as prior messages on multiple computers. (Laptops and desktops - all with windows10) Loss of internet connectivity after visiting a number of websites. OK if stay on just one. Wifi and ethernet seem connected but all browsers just sit and spin. Incredimail locks also. Been using fix above at command prompt. Works but issue reoccurs after 1-6 hours. Have run multiple viral and malware scans. Cleaned out Temp files and resolved any registry issues - no difference. Also, disabled all on board adapters and used new USB ethernet adapter with Windows 10 drivers preinstalled - no difference. All this has begun over past several weeks.
This is a followup of my previous post. Took the desktop to my favorite computer repair shop run by a Russian family. Mostly they reduced the number of startup programs and removed McAfee. They installed MS Defender which comes with Windows - no problem at all now. Works perfectly. Was having same problem with my laptop. Removed McAfee and again installed MS Defender. Only removed a few startup programs but so far working fine.
Posts
1
Registration date
Tuesday June 20, 2017
Last seen
June 20, 2017
- Jun 20, 2017 at 04:06 AM
Same freaking thing happened to me. Couldn't access any internet, although I was connected via either hard connection or wireless. All browsers, and anything that uses the internet would not function....with no internet
McAfee kept hanging up. I'd click on it and 8-15 minutes later it would respond. I was working on this issue all day with microsoft tech's and then McAfee tech's...who then wanted me to opt for a "you pay, and then we'll fix it". I hung up on them, as they were saying it was a problem with my computer. After working on this for damn near 12 hours straight, I finally have clicked and waited long enough between each step to uninstall McAfee...and guess what? I got online like a charm, with all of my browsers. I wanna choke somebody for ruining an entire day of mine. Excuse me McAfee, can I get you to pay me for a 12 hour shift? Or can I rob 12 hours straight of your lives? The fix up above only solved my issue for a nanosecond on each restart, it would work, then nothing else...no second web page.
Posts
10
Registration date
Thursday August 17, 2017
Last seen
August 20, 2017
>
Posts
1
Registration date
Tuesday June 20, 2017
Last seen
June 20, 2017
- Aug 17, 2017 at 08:38 AM
And yet, my issues started when I removed McAfee!
Posts
1
Registration date
Friday September 29, 2017
Last seen
September 29, 2017
- Sep 29, 2017 at 08:28 PM
I knew it had something to do with McAfee. i've had problems with every system that uses it. they bundle it in with many computers.

I uninstalled and removed it; i'm using MS/Windows Defender from now on and everything is working great.

Thanks.
Sky_lord >
Posts
1
Registration date
Friday September 29, 2017
Last seen
September 29, 2017
- Nov 25, 2017 at 03:53 AM
I dont have McAfee install in my laptop but the microsoft edge and google chrome is not working the only thing working is the firefox Its say that "this site can't be reached" I format my laptop yet It still got the same problem
Posts
10854
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
November 16, 2018
- Aug 21, 2017 at 04:09 PM
3
Thank you
Please forgive me for my lack of response, this weekend was no fun!

In the same cmd window, run chkdsk /f /r and reboot!

This defrags your drive, which could cause these types of problems too. Also, how much free space do you have on your C drive?
Maybe the problem is caused by an anti-virus software.
It was in my case, anyway
2
Thank you
Thank you Ambucias...your advice has worked a treat :-)
2
Thank you
Possibly connected to "safepay=bitdefender" -- i'm having this probem since using safepay
Posts
1
Registration date
Friday December 2, 2016
Last seen
December 2, 2016
- Dec 2, 2016 at 06:52 PM
1
Thank you
Hi Ambucias
I tried this code as explained above however the response I got was that 'intipresetlog.txt' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

Pls kindly help me out here.
Thanks
Casini >
Posts
10854
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
November 16, 2018
- Apr 28, 2017 at 05:37 PM
for windows 10 with no log.txt netsh int ip reset
Sky_lord > Casini - Nov 25, 2017 at 03:54 AM
Did you type the code properly
Posts
10854
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
November 16, 2018
- Dec 30, 2016 at 08:40 AM
Not utilizing the command prompt with elevated privileges (ADMINISTRATOR). Give that a try.
Posts
10
Registration date
Thursday August 17, 2017
Last seen
August 20, 2017
>
Posts
10854
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
November 16, 2018
- Aug 17, 2017 at 04:34 PM
How do you do that?
Posts
10854
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
November 16, 2018
>
Posts
10
Registration date
Thursday August 17, 2017
Last seen
August 20, 2017
- Aug 18, 2017 at 07:12 PM
What operating system do you have?
1
Thank you
i did what u did but it still failed any reason why it does that?
Posts
5
Registration date
Sunday May 21, 2017
Last seen
May 23, 2017
- May 22, 2017 at 05:27 PM
Anyone have a solution?
Posts
5
Registration date
Sunday May 21, 2017
Last seen
May 23, 2017
- May 23, 2017 at 12:53 AM
Yay fixed.
I uninstalled AVG that was running the fire wall( reverted back to windows fire wall)
Ran CCleaner
Deleted the Chrome folder in programs.
Ran Cleaner again
Rebooted
Downloaded a new copy of Chrome into a fresh folder.
In the settings in Chrome under system, unchecked hardware acceleration.
Rebooted.
Now been running 5 odd hours smooth as. Plus the pages load super fast.
Posts
5
Registration date
Sunday May 21, 2017
Last seen
May 23, 2017
- May 23, 2017 at 12:56 AM
It seems when I got my computer back from being repaired, they had installed ESET NOD antivirus which I didn't know( but bloody good on them) and I had installed AVG which caused the issues.
Posts
55829
Registration date
Monday February 1, 2010
Last seen
November 16, 2018
>
Posts
5
Registration date
Sunday May 21, 2017
Last seen
May 23, 2017
- May 23, 2017 at 04:02 AM
Thanks for letting us know. Two antiviruses software will conflicts, you should have only one.
Posts
1
Registration date
Friday June 23, 2017
Last seen
June 23, 2017
- Jun 23, 2017 at 08:37 PM
I had similar experience this evening: three browsers failed to connect (Chrome, Firefox, Edge) but my mail client (Mozilla Thunderbird) worked just fine. Simply rebooting brought it all back (for now). Very strange behavior.
0
Thank you
Same problem. If I rebot my PC I'd imagine all my files and password will be safe? Thanks
-1
Thank you
As commenter suggested above, I uninstalled McGaffee and it was an instantaneous success. Do this first! Before you waste any amount of time
-5
Thank you
Worked like a charm. Thanks a lot!
Posts
10
Registration date
Thursday August 17, 2017
Last seen
August 20, 2017
>
Posts
10854
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
November 16, 2018
- Aug 19, 2017 at 12:59 PM
I figured out how to do it!!! Thank God the browser on my phone works!!! Running etc Scannow, now! Thank you!
Posts
10
Registration date
Thursday August 17, 2017
Last seen
August 20, 2017
>
Posts
10854
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
November 16, 2018
- Aug 19, 2017 at 01:31 PM
Scan took 45 min max. Nothing found. Ran the reset from above again as admin and everything ok. Rebooted and will see what happens.
Posts
10
Registration date
Thursday August 17, 2017
Last seen
August 20, 2017
>
Posts
10854
Registration date
Monday June 3, 2013
Status
Moderator
Last seen
November 16, 2018
- Aug 20, 2017 at 10:19 AM
Well, still freezing up. I had 3 windows open. So I ran the reset again as admin, one part failed. Rebooting. This is beyond frustrating
Same issue here, browsers suddenly not responding & resolving host. If anyone has found the solution, it would be greatly appreciated!

Tx
Posts
1
Registration date
Monday October 2, 2017
Last seen
October 2, 2017
- Oct 2, 2017 at 09:13 AM
I have the same issue on my wifes laptop, connected to the internet, but browsers dont work.. She does not use McAffee. She uses a support service called USTech Support that has installed something called "early detection center" which is their anti virus software

They and i have been working on this every day last week. They get it working for a while but then the problem resurfaces, then I do one the things I found on the internet. Same thing, it works for a while, but then the problem comes back

Finally last night they turned off windows defender.. Its too soon to know for sure, but i have high hopes that there was some sort of conflict between the two programs, and turning one off will solve our problem