Instagram is a great way to stay up-to-date with friends and family, but sometimes you may want to take a break or detox completely from social media. If you'd like to permanently delete your Instagram account but aren't sure how, don't worry, in this guide we will show you exactly how to delete your Instagram account.
Deleting your Instagram account is irreversible, meaning that you will lose all of your photos and information. This is why the social media site provides you with the option to temporarily disable your account so that you may restore it at a later date. If you want to temporarily disable your account, read this dedicated article on how to disable an Instagram account.
To permanently delete your Instagram account, rather than simply disabling your account, go to Instagram's Delete Your Account page on the web. If you're not already logged in, you will be prompted to do so.
*Select from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deleting your account? your reason for deleting:
*Re-enter your password, and click or tap Permanently delete my account.
For security reasons, Instagram isn't allowed to delete your account for you. If the reason why you'd like to delete your account is because you've forgotten your login information, see our article on how to reset your Instagram password.
You cannot delete your Instagram account through the Instagram app on your mobile device, instead you will need to login to Instagram on your mobile browser and follow all of the steps as described above. These steps should also work if you are looking for how to delete Instagram account on iPhone, and not simply Android devices.
If you temporarily disable your account, you can recover your profile and your previous posts by reactivating it. However, if you have chosen to permanently delete your Instagram account, you will not be able to recover it.
In order to regain access to the social media app, you will need to recreate an account. If you are unsure if you want to keep your account active or not, consider temporarily disabling it instead of deleting it.
Instagram has recently introduced an archive option that allows you to hide your images; Instagram stores them in-app so that you don't have to worry about deleting them and losing the comments and likes that it had. If you would like to recover these images, head to the Archive section in your Instagram app (the clock in the top-left corner of the screen), and select the image that you would like to recover:
If you have actually deleted an image from the app but have not disabled Instagram's automatic saving feature, you should be able to locate the image in your Camera Roll or in your chosen folder. Should you use Instagram on a laptop, you can always download your images as you go along using this tutorial, so you never lose them. If you don't have instagram on your computer, you can get it here.
Image: © Ink Drop - Shutterstock.com