How To Know if Your Facebook Data Was Shared with Cambridge Analytica

In light of the Cambridge Analytica scandal, Facebook has admitted that over 85 million users have had their data collected by the consulting company. Facebook has since been under pressure to increase transparency around the treatment of users' data. Facebook has recently launched an easy way for users to find out if their data was compromised by Cambridge Analytica.

Additionally, in defense of general user data concerns, Facebook has also provided a way to identify which apps and websites you have authorized by way of Facebook login. These apps and websites will also have limited access to your data, based on your consent. With the new account options, it is now easier to find and manage these security settings.


How To Know if Your Facebook Data Was Shared with Cambridge Analytica

To find out if your information has been used by Cambridge Analytica, click this link. Go to the section Was my information shared?, where Facebook has configured a custom response based on your profile when you access the page:


If you participated in "This Is My Digital Life," you will be informed. Otherwise, Facebook will confirm that no information was shared.

Note that if any of your Facebook friends participated in "This Is My Digital Life," it is possible that some of your basic information, such as a birthdate or place of birth, might have been shared. Facebook will also confirm this once you access the page at the link above.

How To Know Which Applications and Sites Have Access to Your Facebook Data

To find out which applications and website have access to your Facebook data, click here to open the Apps and Websites page. From this page, ensure that you have selected the Active tab in order to view the apps and websites that are currently activated. If an app or website appears on this list, it can receive only the information that you have consented to share with it:


From this page, if you select View and edit below each app or website, a new window will open that shows you the information shared with the selected service:


Here you can easily manage the app/website’s visibility, access the information that is shared with the app/website, see the actions that the app/website can take, and modify or end the authorization:


The Expired tab at the top of the page allows you to see which connections are expired. This means that these apps and websites could have access to the data you have previously shared, but any further data will not be shared, as the connection is expired. Note that you will still be able to use your Facebook account to log in to these services.

The Removed tab at the top of the page shows all apps and websites that you have removed. Similar to the list of expired apps/websites, these services could still have access to data that you have already shared with them. However, they will not be able to make any new data requests.

How To Delete Your Facebook Account

Many people have been left uneasy by Facebook's data privacy scandal. If you are looking to delete your account as a result of it, you are likely not alone.


To delete your Facebook account, you have two options: temporary deactivation and permanent deletion. To find out how to temporarily deactivate or permanently delete your account, refer to this page.

Before completely deleting your account, you may be interested in retrieving all of your data from Facebook. Head to this page to find out how to download your Facebook data to either your computer or your mobile device.

Image: © Facebook.
Published by Daniel_CCM. Latest update on April 17, 2018 at 05:54 AM by IsraelCCM.
This document, titled "How To Know if Your Facebook Data Was Shared with Cambridge Analytica," is available under the Creative Commons license. Any copy, reuse, or modification of the content should be sufficiently credited to CCM (https://ccm.net/).